Skip to content

The Hour of the Stars

January 17, 2012

I know the hour of the stars.
When the light in the west lowers,
day falls beneath the black stone
night places over this running field.

The last of the warmth,
now just an orange line there –
away from me. The cold is unrolled
onto the grass, a film that rests on my hand,
then chest.

It is here I see the first brave star –
come to steady my wandering eyes,
come to fasten me to the blackness.
And from this star,
from the only light I see, comes another,
then another point of light presses
against the membrane of the evening.

These three are alone for some time –
ages it feels, like the ground has
shifted below me, like purple night
is the only presence to exist hereafter –
then, in confidence, like the stringed
rising of locusts (almost forgotten now)
come the rest.

As I track the moving population of
flickering scales above me,
I am overwhelmed.
For a small moment I remain,
hoping to see the triumph
of each arrival – and I barely breathe.

Soon I rise, returning to the
head-warmth above my witnessing place
and pace home across grey grass,
ancient stars coming into their new existence,
seeping misty light and new cold
through their pores.

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

